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EMS Education Programs 

 
Scope: This document describes the standards and guidelines for emergency medical 

services (EMS) educational agencies desiring to present programs for State of 
Delaware and/or National Registry credit. The Division of Public Health, Office of 
Emergency Medical Services, the State EMS Medical Director, and the Delaware 
State Fire Prevention Commission accept these standards and guidelines. 

 
1.0 Definitions 

1.1 Agency – An entity recognized by the Division of Public Health and the State Fire 
Prevention Commission that provides EMS education 

1.2 BLS- Basic Life Support 
1.3 DOT – Department of Transportation (United States) 
1.4 DSFS- The Delaware State Fire School 
1.5 EMR – Emergency Medical Responder 
1.6 EMT - Emergency Medical Technician 
1.7 FTO- Field Training Officer 
1.8 Guidelines – Components desired or to work toward, but not required under this 

document 
1.9 LEMR – Law Enforcement Medical Responder 
1.10 NREMT-National Registry of Emergency Medical Technicians 
1.11 NSC – National Standard Curriculum 
1.12 OEMS – Office of Emergency Medical Services (State of Delaware) 
1.13 Program – A unit of instruction 
1.14 SFPC- Delaware State Fire Prevention Commission 
1.15 Standards – Minimum acceptable components that must be in place in order to 

be considered compliant with this document 
 
2.0 Applicable Programs 

2.1  The OEMS is designated as the representative for the National Registry of EMT’s 
in the State. 

2.2  The SFPC is the regulatory agency for the State’s EMR and EMT certifications. 
2.3  The State EMS Medical Directors are responsible for prospective medical 

control, which includes EMS education and training programs. 
2.4  All programs will meet the standards as outlined in the following sections and 

receive approval from the State EMS Medical Director and the SFPC prior to 
the beginning of instruction. 

2.5  Programs that do not meet these standards as outlined in the following sections 
will not receive State of Delaware approval and will not be eligible for state 
and/or National Certification. 

2.6  This policy applies to the following programs 
2.6.1 EMR/LEMR 

A.  Initial 
B.  Refresher 
C.  Continuing Education 

2.6.2 EMT 
A.  Initial 
B.  Refresher 
C.  Continuing Education 
D.  Protocol 

2.6.3 Methods of Instruction 
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A.  Initial 
B.  Refresher 

2.6.4  FTO Programs 
 

 
 

3.0 EMS Education Agency 
3.1 Application Standards 

3.1.1 Each agency desiring to present emergency medical services 
educational programs must submit an application on a prescribed form. 
(Appendix A) 

3.1.2 EMR and EMT initial and recertification courses must be submitted to 
the OEMS at least 30 business days prior to the start of the course. 

3.1.3 Continuing Education and BLS protocol courses must be submitted at 
least 15 business days prior to the start of the course. 

3.1.4 Agencies must receive approval of their application prior to presentation 
of any EMS educational program or class. 

3.1.5 Agencies must demonstrate compliance to the standards outlined in this 
document in order to receive approval to provide EMS educational 
programs. 

3.1.6 The OEMS, the State Medical Director must approve each educational 
program. 
3.1.6.1 The State Medical Director will approve course content based on 

the current accepted national standards as published by NREMT 
National EMS Education Standards. 

3.1.6.2 The OEMS will verify educational agencies’ compliance with the 
standard and guidelines set forth in this document in respect to 
CEU programs. 

3.1.6.3 The OEMS will notify the presenting agency in written form of the 
program approval/disapproval within 10 working days of receipt of 
the program. 

3.1.6.4 Programs disapproved by the State EMS Medical Director may 
be resubmitted with corrections for approval. 

3.1.6.5 The State EMS Medical Director reserves the right to alter or 
accept the recommended credit hours. 

3.1.6.6 Requested hours for credit shall be for delivered core content 
only, i.e., time for breaks and/or meals shall not be included in 
the total hours for credit requested. 

3.1.6.7 CEU’s will be issued an approval number good for a two-year 
period. 

3.1.6.8 OEMS will publish yearly a list of the approved programs by 
agency and course name. 

3.1.6.9 Agencies must maintain attendance records of the program for at 
least five (5) years. The OEMS reserves the right to inspect 
attendance records. 

3.1.7 The SFPC will verify educational agencies compliance with the standard 
and guidelines set forth in this document in respect to EMT and EMR 
programs. 

3.1.7.1 The SFPC will approve the educational agency for compliance 
with the State of Delaware Ambulance Regulations and state 
certification. 



EMS Education Policy 

May 17, 2016 

5 

 

  

 
 

3.2 Facility Standards 
3.2.1 AV equipment should be readily available to enhance didactic material. 
3.2.2 Facility must have equipment mandated by the current accepted national 

standards as published by NREMT to augment learning in each module. 
3.2.2.1 The equipment must be readily available to all students and be in 

good working order. 
3.2.3 The training facility should be well lit, well ventilated and have 

comfortable seating arrangements to facilitate learning. 
3.2.4 The facility should have adequate parking available for all students and 

instructors. 
3.2.5 The facility will have adequate restroom facilities. 
3.2.6 Suggested ratio is 1 piece of equipment for every 8 students. 

 
3.3 Medical Direction 

3.3.1 All programs specified under these guidelines must be under the 
direction of and approved by a Program Medical Director. 

3.3.2 The Program Medical Director must be a physician licensed in Delaware 
with a background in emergency medical services, actively practicing in 
Emergency Medicine. The physician should be Board Certified or 
prepared in emergency medicine. 

3.3.3 The Program Medical Director will be responsible for 
A.  Review and approve the educational content of the program 

curriculum for appropriateness, medical accuracy and to be current 
with the basis for patient care. 

B.  Monitoring of the curriculum throughout the course. 
C.  Overseeing the course curriculum and any practice or protocol 

issues. 
D.  Insuring clinical competence in the instructor cadre and graduates. 

 
3.4 Personnel Qualifications Standards 

3.4.1 All agencies are required to appoint a Program Manager. 
3.4.2 The Program Manager is responsible for: 

A.  The overall operation of the course and need not be involved with 
direct education. 

B.  Assuring the course goals and objectives are met. 
C.  Quality monitoring and improvement efforts to insure compliance with 

the current accepted national registry standards as published by 
NREMT, this policy and student satisfaction. 

D.  A copy of the curriculum vitae’s for each instructor must be maintained 
by the Program Manager and are subject to audit by the State EMS 
Medical Director or their designee. 

3.4.3 Primary/Core Instructor 
A.  Responsible for the direct presentation of core content. 
B.  Must meet EMS Instructor qualifications (Section 9.0) 

3.4.4 Adjunct Instructor 
A.  This individual assists the primary/core instructors with practical skill 

labs. 
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B.  Must be at a minimum of an EMT or above and must be active in 
EMS for at least one (1) year following completion of their initial EMT 
training. 

C.  Must meet requirements of EMS instructor. 
D.  Must be an active member of the EMS system. 

3.4.5 Agencies may elect to appoint a Course Coordinator. The Course 
Coordinator is responsible for: 
A.  Coordination of each course or program. 
B.  May serve as the primary instructor if the minimum qualifications for 

that position are met. 
 

3.5 Quality Improvement Standards 
3.5.1 Agencies must have a written plan that includes eliciting feedback from 

students and instructors on performance, and addressing issues 
identified. 

3.5.2 The plan should evaluate: 
A.  Student’s assessment of achievement of each objective. 
B.  Teaching effectiveness of each instructor/trainer. 
C.  Relevance of the content to the objectives. 
D.  Effectiveness of teaching methods. 
E.  Appropriateness of physical facilities. 

3.5.3 The training agency shall utilize this information to make appropriate 
changes to course admission policies, areas of emphasis, etc. 

3.5.4 Agencies shall formulate a policy to handle complaints regarding the 
conduct of the course and examination process. 

 
4.0 General Policy for Initial and Refresher Educational Programs 

4.1  All requirements of Section 3.0 are mandatory. 
4.2  Each presenting agency must complete a Course Information Form and 

submit it and all required paperwork to the OEMS In accordance with section 
3.1.2. 
4.2.1 The SFPC will verify educational agencies’ compliance with the 

standard and guidelines set forth in this document. 
4.3  The OEMS will assign a Course Approval Number for each submitted course 

once verification of compliance with the standards set forth in this document has 
been met and approval from the State EMS Medical Director. 

4.4  Agencies must receive approval of their application prior to presentation of any 
EMS educational program or class. 

4.5  The State EMS Medical Director or his designee reserves the right to monitor 
the practical examination. 

4.6  Proficiency of skills must be documented through ongoing practical skill stations. 
4.7  The use of a skill measurement instrument is mandated to document 

competency. 
4.8  Agencies must document and explain the National Registry of EMT’s Felony 

Conviction Policy to all prospective students during course orientation (first 
class session). 

4.9  Agencies must document and explain the State of Delaware’s background check 
legislation to all EMT students. 

4.10 Agencies must document and explain the State Fire Prevention Commissions 
Regulations in regard to applying for and receiving Delaware EMT Certification, 
which is a requirement in the State of Delaware. 
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4.11  It is recognized that there will be instances where a 100% attendance to a 
course cannot be achieved.  It will be up to the Program Manager, in 
collaboration with the Program Medical Director to determine if the student may 
continue in the program due to documented absences. Agencies must 
document and explain attendance policies to prospective students during course 
orientation (first class session). 

4.12  Following completion of the course or class, certificates will be presented to 
the students and will be signed by the Program Manager. OEMS/SFPC 
course approval number must appear on the course completion certificate. 

4.12.1 A copy of the course completion certificate must accompany the OEMS 
Course Information Form. 

4.12.2 Participant name and course date(s) must be typed or electronically 
entered on the course completion certificate. 

4.13 Correspondence should be addressed to: 
Training Administrator                                EMS Training Administrator 
State of Delaware                                      Delaware State Fire School  
Office of Emergency Medical Services      1461 Chestnut Grove Road 
100 Sunnyside Rd                                      Dover, DE 19904 
Smyrna, DE 19977 

4.14  Classes may be monitored by the State Fire Prevention Commission or 
appointed designee. 

4.15   The course content will be presented according to the current accepted 
national registry standards as published by NREMT and should follow NREMT 
guidelines for hours of didactic instruction. Referenced National EMS Education 
Standards Curricula includes: 

4.16  EMT Refresher NSC 
4.17  EMR Refresher NSC 
4.18  EMS Instructor Training Program 
4.19  Class size should be limited to a size in which appropriate attention may be paid 

to each individual student. 
4.20  Guest instructors for didactic core content may be used at the discretion of the 

course coordinator when dealing with the guest instructors’ areas of expertise. 
4.21  Recommended Instructor/student ratio for practical/skills sessions is 1:8. 
4.22  The student will be tested through examinations and/or practical evaluations 

at appropriate intervals through a course or class session. 
 
5.0 Emergency Medical Responder/ Law Enforcement Medical Responder 

5.1  Initial Training 
5.1.1 The program must be a minimum of 40 hours in length inclusive of the 

final written and practical examination. 
5.1.2 Students must be at least 16 years of age at the time of registration for 

the course. 
5.1.3 Instructors must meet the requirements as outlined in this document. 
5.1.4 Final Written Examination 

5.2  Following completion of an EMR/LEMR initial course a written final exam will 
be generated and administrated by the SFPC or their designee. 

5.3  Arrangements must be made at least 30 business days prior to the 
completion of the class to the final exam. 

5.4  The SFPC or designee will administer any final exam, including re-tests. 
5.5  Grades from the final exam may be averaged in with the student’s overall 

grade point average. 



EMS Education Policy 

May 17, 2016 

8 

 

  

 
 

5.6  Student must receive a 70% or higher grade on the Final Exam to pass the 
course. 

5.7  The student will be allowed a maximum of one (1) re-tests 
5.8  Final Practical Examination 

5.8.1 A final practical exam will be performed at the end of each program. 
5.8.2 A candidate is required to pass the practical examination prior to sitting 

for the National Registry Written Examination. 
5.8.3 The examination will consist of the most current practical skills utilized by 

NREMT testing standards 
5.8.4 The training facility shall utilize Skill Sheets for the practical examination 

as published by the National Registry. 
5.8.5 Station Failure 

5.8.5.1  Failure of all stations constitutes failure of the 
examination process. 
a.  The candidate must show evidence of remedial training 

prior to a second attempt. 
b. The candidate must attempt a re-test of the final practical 

examination within 12 months of the first attempt. 
5.8.5.2  Failure of one (1) to two (2) stations entitles the candidate to 

re-test the failed stations only. 
a.  Same day re-tests are at the option of the training center. 

b.  The candidate may only re-test any one station once on 
the same day. 

c.   A second failure on any one station constitutes failure of 
the test and must seek remedial training from their 
training agency. 

d.  The candidate is responsible for making arrangements 
with the training agency for further testing opportunities. 

5.8.6 Students must pass the final exam and practical skills to be eligible to sit 
for the National Registry written exam. 

5.8.7 Reporting 
5.8.7.1  The training facility shall maintain a report of practical testing. 
5.8.7.2  The training facility shall make the report available to the 

SFPC as requested. 
5.8.7.3  The report shall note the name, and pass/fail status at each 

station, the date and location of the test, included is the 
number of students at the start of the class and the number 
completing. 

5.8.7.4  Students electing to take the NREMT written EMR/LEMR 
examination must present a copy of their course completion 
certificate to the examination proctor. The course completion 
certificate must include: 
1.  Final examination score 
2.  Results of practical examination for each station tested. 

 

5.8.8 Skills Examiners 
5.8.8.1  Skills examiners selected by the training agency shall be 

experienced providers with background and expertise in the 
skill they are to evaluate. 
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5.8.8.2  Skill evaluators selected may not have taught that skill to the 
students being tested. 

 
5.9  Refresher Training 

5.9.1 Instructors for core content must be EMT or above. 
5.9.2 Program Hours 

5.9.2.1  The Delaware EMR/LEMR shall consist of  the most current 
NREMT standards; a minimum of Twelve (12) hours of 
instruction, inclusive of skills evaluation. 

5.9.3 Core Content 
5.9.3.1   Core content for the Refresher shall consist of the most 

current NREMT standards. 
A.  Airway, Respiration & Ventilation  (2 hours) 

1.  Ventilation (1 hour) 
a. Assisted Ventilation 

i. Respiratory failure versus distress 
ii. Adjuncts 

b. Positioning 
2.  Oxygenation (1 hour) 

B.  Cardiovascular  (2 hours) 
1.  Stroke (1 hour) 

a. Assessment (Stroke Scale) 
b. Oxygen Administration 
c. Time of Onset (duration) 
d. Transport Destination 

2.  Cardiac Arrest 
a. Ventricular Assist Devices 

C.  Trauma  (1 hour) 
1.  CNS Injury (.5 hours) 

a. Concussion 
2.  Tourniquets (.5 hours) 

D.  Medical  (3 hours) 
1.  Immunological Diseases (1 hour) 

a. Allergic reaction 
b. Anaphylaxis 

2.  Communicable Diseases (.5 hours) 
a. Hygiene (hand washing, etc.) 
b. Vaccines 
c. Influenza 

3.  Psychiatric Emergencies (1.5 hours) 
a. Mental Health 
b. Patient Restraint 
c. Agitated Delirium 
d. Depression/suicide 

5.9.4 State Content 
5.9.4.1   State content for the Refresher shall consist of the AHA BLS 

for Healthcare Provider program, or equivalent. 
5.9.5 Student Evaluation 

5.9.5.1   The students will be evaluated during the course. This shall 
include demonstrated competency in the skills outlined 
above. 
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5.9.6 There are no continuing education requirements for EMR/LEMR other 
than the maintenance of a current AHA CPR BLS for Healthcare 
provider card or an approved equivalent by the SFPC. 

5.9.7 Following completion of the course a written final exam will be 
generated and administrated by the SFPC or their designee. 

 

5.10  Continuing Education Credit- Currently not required for Delaware Certification 
5.10.1  Individual Continued Competency Requirements (ICCR) permit that 

an individual may select any OEMS approved education for a 
minimum of 4 hours; as described by the National Registry of EMTs 
for EMR recertification. 

 

6.0 Emergency Medical Technician 
6.1   Initial Training 

6.1.1 Eligibility 
6.1.1.1  All applicants must show proof of current immunizations (or 

the initiation of a vaccine series) by the sixth class session 
or before the student enters a clinical site (Tetanus, MMR, 
Hepatitis, and TB tested). Waivers of liability shall be 
presented to the training agency should the student elect 
not to receive the immunizations. 

6.1.1.2  All applicants must have a healthcare level CPR course 
completed prior to the start of the program with proof of 
attendance presented at the time of registration. Programs 
are permitted to waive this requirement IF they have a 
mechanism in place to assure compliance to this 
requirement by the sixth class session. 

6.1.2 Program Hours 
6.1.2.1  Program hours must be a minimum of 150 hours of 

instruction as described in the current recognized national 
standard; not inclusive of clinical experience. 

6.1.2.2  Delaware BLS Protocols shall be included as part of initial 
training. The protocol exam shall be provided by the SFPC 
or their designee. 

6.1.3 Instructors 
6.1.3.1  Instructors must meet EMS Instructor qualifications (Section 

8.0). 

6.1.3.2  Primary Instructors must be EMT level trained or above to 
present the didactic clinical portions of the training 

6.1.4 Clinical Experience 
6.1.4.1  The course must include clinical and/or field rotations 

above and beyond the mandated hours of didactic 
training. 
A. Each student must achieve a minimum of 10 live 

patient exposures beginning with an interview and 
progressing through an assessment. 

B. Patient contacts shall be done on a 911 BLS 
responding ambulance, or clinical rotations in an 
approved emergency department with a Delaware 
Paramedic Instructor with SFPC approval. The 
student must assist with providing a physical exam, 
obtaining a history, and a set of Vital signs. 
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6.1.4.2 Preceptors within the organization must document 
evaluation of clinical/field performance on a written 
evaluation form. 

6.1.4.3  Suggested exposures include the local emergency 
department and EMS service. 

6.1.4.4  The Course Coordinator verifying that an agreement has 
been reached between the Course Coordinator and the 
facility stating that use of their resources has been approved 
for clinical/field rotations must keep a letter from each of these 
agencies on file. 

6.1.5 Final Written Examination 
6.1.5.1  The SFPC appointed designee prior to National Registry 

testing may provide a cumulative final examination. 
6.1.5.2  The student should not fail more than two (2) module 

examinations in succession or a total of four (4) module 
examinations throughout the course. 

6.1.5.3  If either cannot be achieved, it is reasonable to  declare that 
the student has  not met the expectations of the program. 

6.1.6 Final Practical Examination 
6.1.6.1  A final practical exam will be performed at the end of each 

complete EMT course; and may be monitored by OEMS, 
the SFPC, or their designees. 

6.1.6.2  The Psychomotor Exam shall be administered according to 
and following the current NREMT EMT Psychomotor 
Examination Users Guide. 

6.1.6.3 A candidate is required to pass the practical examination 
prior to sitting for the National Registry Written Examination. 

6.1.6.4  The examination will consist of the most current practical 
skills utilized by NREMT testing standards 

6.1.6.5  Station Failure 
6.1.6.5.1 Failure of four (4) or more stations constitutes 

failure of the examination process. 
A. The candidate must show evidence of 

remedial training prior to a second attempt. 
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B. The candidate must attempt a re-test of the 
final practical examination within 12 months 
of the first attempt. 

6.1.6.5.2 Failure of one (1) to three (3) stations entitles the 
candidate to re-test the failed stations only. 

6.1.6.5.3 Failure of the Random Skill Station will be re- 
tested as follows: 
A.  The candidate must re-test the failed station. 
B.  The candidate must then test on one 

additional random skills station. 
6.1.6.6  Reporting 

6.1.6.6.1 The training facility shall submit a report of 
practical testing on the form provided. 

6.1.6.6.2 The training facility shall make the report available 
to the SFPC appointed designee. 

6.1.6.6.3 The report shall note the name, and pass/fail 
status at each station, the date and location of the 
test. The report shall also indicate number of 
students who started the course and the number 
who completed. 

6.1.6.7  Skills Examiners 
6.1.6.7.1 Skills examiners selected by the training 

agency shall be experienced providers with 
background and expertise in the skill they are 
to evaluate. 

6.1.6.7.2 The training agency shall select examiners who 
did not teach or evaluate students during the 
course on the skill they are examining. 

 
6.1.6.8  Same day re-tests are at the option of the training center. 
6.1.6.9  If the candidate attempts a re-test at a site other than 

where they received their initial training, the candidate 
must present a letter from their training agency noting 
appropriate remedial training and the attempt number. 

 
6.2   Refresher Program 

6.2.1 Instructor Requirements 
6.2.1.1  Instructors for core content must be EMT or above. 

6.2.2 Program Hours 
6.2.2.1  The Delaware EMT- Refresher Program shall be approved 

by the SFPC and consist of the most current NREMT EMT 
Refresher criteria. 

6.2.3 Core Content: National Continued Competency Requirements (NCCR) 
6.2.3.1  Core Content for the Delaware Refresher program shall 

consist of the current NCCP as developed by the NREMT. 
A.   Airway, Respiration & Ventilation 4 hours 

1.  Ventilation (3 hours) 
a.  Minute Ventilation 
b.  Effect on Cardiac 

Output  
c.  Assisted Ventilation 

i.  Respiratory Failure versus Distress 
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ii.  Adjuncts 
(a) Automatic Transport Ventilator  

iii.  Positioning 
2.  Oxygenation (1 hour) 

B. Cardiovascular 6 hours 
1.   Post-Resuscitation Care (.5hours) 

a.   Recognition of Return of Spontaneous 
Circulation (ROSC) 

b.   Oxygenation 
c.    Induced hypothermia (only limited 

depth & breadth) 
2.    Stroke (1 hour)   

a.   Assessment (stroke scale) 
b.   Oxygen administration 
c.    Time of onset (duration) 
d.   Transport destination 

3.   Cardiac Arrest & Ventricular Assist Devices 
(.5 hours) 

4.   Pediatric Cardiac Rate Disturbances (1 hour) 
a.   Tachycardia 
b.   Bradycardia 
c.   Irregular Pulse 

5.   Pediatric Cardiac Arrest (2 hours) 
a.   Optimal chest compressions i.  

Techniques 
b.   Ventilation/Compression ration 

i. Single & 2-Rescuer CPR 
ii.  AED use 

6.   Chest Pain from Cardiovascular Cause (1 
hour) 
a.   Medication Administration 

i.  Nitroglycerine 
ii.  Aspirin 
iii.  Oxygen 

b.   Transport Destination 
C. Trauma 2 hours 

1.  CNS Injury (.5 hours) 

a.  Concussion 
2.  Tourniquets (.5 hours) 
3.  Field Triage (1 hour) 

a.  Model Uniform Core Criteria (MUCC) 
b.  CDC Trauma Triage Decision Scheme 
c.  Sort, Assess, Lifesaving Interventions, 

Treatment/Transport (SALT) 
D. Medical 6 hours 

1.  Special Healthcare Needs (1 hour) 
a.  Tracheostomy care 

b.  Dialysis shunts 
c.  How to deal with patient and 

equipment 
i.  Feeding tubes, VP shunts, etc. 

d. Cognitive issues 
2.  OB Emergency (1 hour) 

a.  Abnormal 
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presentations 
i.  Nuchal cord 

b.  Neonatal resuscitation 
i.  Routine suctioning of the neonate 

3.  Psychiatric Emergencies (1.5 hours) 
a.  Mental Health 
b.  Patient restraint 

i.  Agitated Delirium (only limited 
depth & breadth) 

c.  Suicide/ Depression 
4.  Endocrine (1 hour) 

a.  Diabetes 
b.  Metabolic Syndrome (only limited 

depth & breadth) 

i.  Insulin resistance, DKA/HHNS 
c.  Medication pumps (only limited depth & 

breadth) 

i. Insulin 

d.  Glucometer 
5.  Immunological Diseases (1 hour) 

a.  Allergic Reaction 
b.  Anaphylaxis 

6.  Communicable Diseases (.5 hours) 
a.  Hygiene (hand washing, etc.) 
b.  Vaccines 
c.  Antibiotic Resistant Infections 
d.  Influenza 
e.  Public Health – epidemics, pandemics, 

reporting, etc. 
f.  Systematic inflammatory response 

syndrome (SIRS) versus sepsis versus 
septic shock 
i. Fluid Resuscitation 

E. Operations 2 hours 
1.  At-Risk Populations (.5 hours) 

a.  Pediatric 

b.  Geriatric 
c.  Economically Disadvantaged 
d.  Domestic violence 
e.  Human Trafficking 

2.  Pediatric Transport (.5 hours) 
3.  Affective Characteristics (.5 hours) 

a.  Professionalism 
b.  Cultural Competency 

i. Changing demographics 

4.  Role of Research (.5 hours) 

6.2.3.1  A maximum of 7 hours of this core content may utilize 
distance education, as defined by the NREMT. 

6.2.3.2 State Content shall be derived from Local Continued 
Competency Requirements (LCCR) most current BLS 
Protocols and issues that affect the State’s EMS System 
as identified by the BLS & State Medical Directors. This shall 
be 10 hours of content, as described by the NREMT EMT 
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Recertification Guidelines. 
A. BLS Protocol Review & DEMRS Review (3.5 

hours) 
B. Environmental Emergencies (1 hour) 
C. Medical, Legal & Ethical Issues (.5 hours) 
D. Workplace Safety & Wellness of the EMT (1 hour) 

a. Code Green Campaign 
b. Workplace Violence Awareness & 

Reporting 
c.   Patient Movement Techniques 

E. Injury Prevention & Community Outreach (.5 hours) 
F. CPR Feedback & CPR Assist Devices (.5 hours) 
G. Pharmacology Skills Review (1 hour) 

a. Aspirin 
b. Nitroglycerine 
c.  Albuterol 
d. Epinephrine Auto-injector 
e. Narcan 
f. Oral Glucose 

H. Skill Review (1.5 hours) 
a. Medical Assessment 
b. Trauma Assessment 
c.  Long Bone Immobilization 
d. Joint Immobilization 
e. Seated Spinal Immobilization 
f. Supine Spinal Immobilization 

I. Final Test (.5 hours) 

6.2.3.3  A maximum of 7 hours of this State content may utilize 
distance education, as defined by the NREMT. 

6.2.3.4  The State Content shall provide for skills verification in the 
following areas: 
A. Patient Assessment/Management 

i. Medical & Trauma 
B. Ventilatory Management Skills/Knowledge 

i. Simple Adjuncts 
ii. Supplemental Oxygen Delivery 
iii. Bag-Valve-Mask 

a. One-Rescuer 
b. Two-Rescuer 

C. Cardiac Arrest Management/AED 
D. Hemorrhage Control & Splinting Procedures 
E. Spinal Immobilization 

i. Seated & Supine patients 
F. OB/Gynecologic Skills/Knowledge 
G. Other Related Skills/Knowledge 

i. Radio Communications 
ii. Report Writing & Documentation 

6.2.4 Supplemental Refresher Hours 
6.2.4.1  These hours may be derived from the EMT Refresher or 

from the EMT curriculum. 
6.2.5 Course Evaluation 

6.2.5.1  The students will be evaluated at the conclusion of each 
module. This may include either practical skill 
demonstration or written examination as appropriate. 
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6.2.5.2  The state-approved practical examination as outlined in 
Section 6.1.6 shall be conducted at the conclusion of the 
course. 

6.2.5.3 If conducted, the course completion certificate shall include a 
record of the examination. 

 
7.0 General Policy for Continuing Education Programs 

7.1  General Requirements 
7.1.1 All Policies stated in section 3.0 are mandatory unless deviation 

from general policy is stated in 7.0 
7.1.2 Presenting agencies shall meet the following criteria: 

7.1.2.1  Be recognized as part of the EMS system or as a related 
EMS educational institution. 

A.  Programs approved for “In-Field” delivery are not 
required to meet the training faculty requirement. 

7.1.3  At  the  completion  of  a  Protocol  course  the  State  Fire  
Prevention 
Commission appointed designee will provide the approved State 
protocol exam. 
7.1.3.1  Agencies will contact the SFPC appointed designee at least 

15 working days in advance to schedule receipt of the 
approved exam. 

7.1.3.2  The SFPC reserves the right to administer and grade the 
protocol exam and report results to the presenting agency 
within 15 working days. 

7.1.3.3  Successful completion of the course is achieving an 80% or 
higher on the protocol exam. 

7.1.3.4  Students not receiving a successful passing score on the 
protocol exam will be required to retake the protocol course. 

7.1.4 The OEMS Program Approval Number must be included on all 
documentation associated with the program including: 

A.  Attendance rosters 
B.  Post-course evaluations 
C.  Student Certificate of Completion/Attendance 
D.  Advertising/promotional materials 

7.1.5  There is no maximum number of students specified under this section. 
Each agency shall use their judgment as to how effective a program will 
be for the number of students admitted. 

7.1.6  After approval by the State EMS Medical Director, the agency may use 
the following language in publicly advertised programs: 

 
“This offering has been approved for        hours of continuing education credit for 
Emergency Medical Responders, Emergency Medical Technician, and Paramedics by the 
Delaware Division of Public Health, Office of Emergency Medical Services.” 

 
7.1.7  The OEMS will maintain a file of approved programs and outlines. Prior 

approval of the submitting agency is required before copies of such 
programs will be distributed. 

 
7.2  Instructors 

7.2.1  Instructors teaching in a skills lab must be certified at least to the level 
of the students they are teaching and must be under the direct 
supervision of a Core Instructor. 

7.2.2  The certification level of the Core Instructor to be used in the 
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presentation of a specific program is at the discretion of the presenting 
agency, however their experience and expertise should be consistent 
with the program being presented and should be noted on their 
curriculum vitae. 

 
7.3  Program Packages 

7.3.1  Packages shall include the following: 
7.3.1.1  A completed OEMS Application for Continuing Education 

Credit. 
7.3.1.2  Program objectives 
7.3.1.3  Program outline (includes main teaching points and total 

instructional hours). 
7.3.1.4  Post-course evaluation tool. 

A.  Mail the completed application package to the 
OEMS. 

7.3.2  Programs approved by the State EMS Medical Director shall be either 
notified by e-mail or mailed a copy of the application with the program 
approval number and credit hours. 

7.4  Program Content 
7.4.1  Continuing Education for Drills or Field Exercises 

7.4.1.1  The drill or exercise must have a component directly 
related to the National EMS Education Standards. 

7.4.1.2  Specific emergency medical objectives for the drill/exercise 
must be submitted with the application. 

7.4.1.3  The drill or exercise must include a concluding drill/exercise 
evaluation. It must include an evaluation of the actions of 
the emergency medical personnel. 

7.4.1.4  Ideally, a medical director or senior medical officer for the 
agency should lead this. 

7.4.2  Presentations can be any subject covered in any NSC (National 
Standard Curriculum, EMR, EMT, Paramedic, PIER, EVO-
Ambulance, and Emergency Medical Dispatch) appropriate for the 
audience being taught. 

7.4.3  Approval can be obtained for presentations outside of a NSC; 
however, supporting evidence must be submitted as to its application 
to emergency medical services and the presenting agency. 

7.4.4  There are national standard programs that already meet the approval 
of the State EMS Medical Director, if taught by a training center 
recognized by the national organization having jurisdiction over that 
program. These courses do not need prior approval from the State 
EMS Medical Director for credit. This includes: 
A.  Basic Trauma Life Support 
B.  Pre-Hospital Trauma Life Support 
C.  Advanced Cardiac Life Support 
D.  Pediatric Advanced Life Support 

7.4.5  Other programs approved for continuing education credit by 
nationally recognized accrediting bodies (CECBEMS, etc.) could be 
used for continuing education. 

 
8.0  BLS Protocol training 

8.1 All BLS Protocol training/standing orders, including updates or proposed Pilot 
Protocols, shall be developed and provided by the OEMS. 

8.2  The SFPC must approve Protocol programs prior to presentation. 
8.3  BLS Protocol Update  and Pilot Protocol Training is to be provided by the 
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Delaware State Fire School. 
 

9.0  Emergency Medical Services Instructor 
9.1  Qualifications 

9.1.1  Individual is 21 years of age or older. 
9.1.2  Individual has successfully completed a recognized instructor 

course approved by the Agency having Authority, or possesses a 
bachelor’s degree in education or a teacher’s certification in 
education. 

9.1.3 Individual has successfully completed an EMT course 
9.1.4 Individual possesses current National Certification as an EMT, or 

Paramedic, or recognition through academia as a healthcare 
professional 

9.1.5  Individual possesses a current certification in CPR/AED at the 
healthcare provider level. 

9.1.6  Individual possesses at least 1-year experience functioning at the 
EMT, Paramedic or healthcare professional level providing pre-hospital 
emergency care. 

9.1.7  The Instructor must currently be an active member of the  Delaware 
EMS system. 

 
9.2   EMS Instructor Training Program Guidelines 

9.2.1  Initial Training 

9.2.1.1 The program will utilize the EMS Instructor NSC, Fire 
Service Instructor Course or equivalent. 

9.2.1.2  The program must be a minimum of forty (40) hours in 
length. 

9.2.1.3  This program is not eligible for National Registry continuing 
education credit, however, the training agency shall comply 
with the appropriate paragraphs of Section 4.0 including 
the completion of a Course Information Form and 
supporting documentation. 

9.2.2  Staff Selection 
9.2.2.1  Instructional staff will possess background and 

experience in adult education theory and technique. 
9.2.2.2  Instructional staff will be familiar with EMS activities. 

9.3   Certification 
9.3.1  Instructors must have Instructor Certification approved by the 

Authority having Jurisdiction (AHJ). 
9.4   Recertification 

9.4.1  Has demonstrated competence in teaching the didactic and practical 
skills portions of the curriculum 

9.4.2  Instructor must teach a minimum of eighteen (18) hours over a four 
year period. 

9.4.3  Instructor must attend at least six (6) hours of professional development 
in EMS and/or adult education over a four year period. 

9.4.4  Possesses current  National Registry & State certification as an EMT, 
or certification as a Paramedic or recognition as a healthcare 
professional. 

9.4.5  Possesses current certification in CPR/AED at the healthcare 
professional level. 

9.4.6  Training agencies will provide to the SFPC and OEMS a list of Certified 
EMS Instructors by January 1st each year. 
9.4.6.1  Training agencies are required to maintain records to 
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support the training of Instructors. 
9.4.6.2  The SFPC and OEMS reserve to right to inspect all 

records pertaining to Instructors including but not limited 
to initial training, continuing education, and instruction 
hours. 

9.4.7  Each agency shall monitor and evaluate their instructors on a regular 
basis. Methods can include direct observation, student feedback 
reports or other methods identified in the agencies policies. 
Suggested areas for evaluation include, but are not limited to: 
A.   Knowledge of material 
B.   Delivery of content 
C.   Evaluation of student knowledge 
D.   Classroom management 

 

10.0  Field Training Officer Program 

10.1  Applications and approval for FTO programs follow the same criteria specified 
in 7.0 Continuing Education Programs. The Field Training Officer (FTO) 
Interactive course offered by Jones & Bartlett Learning, or a SFPC approved 
equivalent, may be recognized as initial training. 

10.1.1  Upon completion of the course, students shall submit a certificate of 
completion to the Delaware State Fire School. 

10.2  This course is not eligible for EMS CEUs. 
10.3  FTO certification shall be recognized by the SFPC for a period of 2 years. 
10.4  Recertification 

10.4.1  FTOs must attend a SFPC approved recertification course prior to 
certification lapsing as a FTO. 
10.4.1.1.  FTOs whose certification has lapsed must take the FTO full 

course. 

10.4.2 Re-certifications are good for a 2 year period. 
 

APPENDICES 
 

 
 

A. Flow chart: course approval for Emergency Medical Responder/Law Enforcement 
Medical Responder and EMT 

B. Application for Continuing Education Credit 
C. Course Information Form 
D. OEMS/SFPC Official Course roster 
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Flow Chart: Course Approval Process for 
Emergency Medical Responder/Law Enforcement 

Medical Responder and EMT 
 

 
Submit “Course Info 

Form” with Objectives & 
Course Completion 

Certification to OEMS 
within 30 working days 

 

 
 

Approval process 
begins: 

OEMS and SFPC 

reviews Application 
 
 
 
 

OEMS assigns 
Approval Number to 

Course 
 
 
 
 
 

Agencies MUST receive 
approval before start of 

course 
 

 
 
 
 

FINAL EXAM Schedule 
with SFPC or designee 

at least 30 working 
days from completion 

of course 

 

SFPC or designee will 
provide the exams and 

proctor to administer the 
exam. 

 

 
 

After a student 
successfully completes 
NR, Applies to SFPC for 
State certification card 

After a student successfully 
completes an EMR/LEMR or 
EMT course: applies to SFPC 

on approved form for 
Delaware Certification 
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 Content Hrs 
 Patient Assessment    
 Airway, Breathing & 

Cardiology 
 

   
 Medical Emergencies    
 Trauma  
 Obstetrics & Pediatrics    
 Operational Tasks    
 Preparatory    

 

 Approved 
 Approved w/ Comments 
 Not Approved w/ Comments 

 

 Mandatory 
 Flexible 
 Elective 

 

State Of Delaware 
Office of Emergency Medical Services 

 

 

Application for Continuing Education Credit 
 
 

Presenting Agency and Address: Agency Contact: 

 
Daytime Tel. No.: 

 

 

E-Mail: 
 

 
Program Name and Brief Description: 

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Course Location: Total Hours: 

BLS:    ALS    

 
Class Start Date: Class End Date: Name of Primary Instructor and Credentials: 

 

 
Signature of Agency Contact: Date: 

 

 
Name of Course Medical Director and Credentials: 

 
 
 

Please attach the following: 
1)   Course Objectives 
2)   Course Outline (include instructional hours per section) 
3)   Post-Course Evaluation Tool (quiz, test, skill evaluation tool, class evaluation) 

4)   Example, Course Completion Certificate 

 
OEMS Use Only Below This Line 

 
Received by OEMS (Date): Reviewed By: (Initial/Date): 

 

 
 

Medical Director Review: Date: 
 

 
Status: Approval Number: 

 
- CED - 

 
Comments: 

 
 
 

Core Content: 

Date Approved: 

 

Approved Credit Hours: 

BLS:    ALS    
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 Initial 
 Refresher  

 

 Approved 
 Approved w/ Comments 
 Not Approved w/ Comments 

 

 Initial 
 Refresher  
 Protocol 

 

 Initial 
 Refresher    
 Protocol 
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State Of Delaware 
Office of Emergency Medical Services 

 

 

Course Information Form 
 
 
 

Presenting Agency and Address: Agency Contact: 

 
Daytime Tel. No: 

 

 

E-mail: 
 
 

Course Name (select one): EMT 
 

Paramedic 
 
 

Emergency Medical Responder/ 

Law Enforcement Medical Responder: 

 
 
Field Training Officer 

 Initial 

 

 
 
Methods of Instruction 

 Refresher   Initial 
 

 

Class Location: Registration Close Date: 
 

 
 

Name of Course Medical Director and Credentials: 
 

 
 

Class Start Date: 
 

Class End Date: 
Written Exam Test Date: 

 

 
Paramedic Practical Exam Date: Is this class? 

  Open for all students   Private – Closed to outside students 

 
 

Please attach Class Schedule and a copy of the Course Completion Certificate 

 
OEMS- SFPC Use Only Below This Line 

 
Received by OEMS (Date): Reviewed By: (Initial/Date) Date Approved: 

 
 
 

Approval Number: SFPC Reviewed By: (Initial/Date) Date Approved: 
 

 
 

Status: 
 

Comments: 
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Course Information 

OEMS/SFPC Official Course Completion Roster 
 

 
 
 
 

Presenting Agency:    

 
Emergency Medical Responder/Law Enforcement Medical Responder: 

Full Course Refresher Course 
 

 
BLS: 

Full Course Refresher Course Protocol 
 

 
Continuing Education Course 

 
Course Title: 

Program Manager:                                                                                    

Phone#:                                                                                                     

Course Location and address:                                                                  

 

 
 
 
 

Total Number of Students Complete: 

 
Method of Instruction: 

Full Course Refresher Course 
 

 
Field Training Officer Course 

Full Course      Refresher Course 

Course Approval #: 
 

Course Start Date 

Course End Date 

Total hours of instruction 

 

 
 

I verify that this information is accurate and truthful, and that it may be confirmed. This course was taught in accordance with the Office of EMS and Delaware 

State Fire Prevention Commission’s EMS Educational Program Administrative Standards and Guidelines: 
 

Program Manager Signature:   
 

Date:    
 

 

Please forward by email or mail to the Delaware State Fire School no later than 

15 business days after the completion date of the course. 

 
NO FAXED COPIES WILL BE ACCEPTED. ALL INFORMATION MUST 

BE TYPED. 

Delaware State Fire School 
www.delawarestatefireschool.com 

Attn: EMS Training Administrator 

1461 Chestnut Grove Rd 

Dover, DE 19904 

 
 
 
 
 

 
 

Date    Course:   Approval #:    

http://www.delawarestatefireschool.com/
http://www.delawarestatefireschool.com/

